FAQ  •  Register  •  Login
UKLockpickers.co.uk Lockpicking supplies such as Lockpicks, tools, and more! COMMANDOLOCK.COM Military grade padlock systems lockpickshop.com A source for lockpicking supplies such as lockpicks, locksmith tools, and more!

Old handcuffs

<<

Visitor

Post Tue Jan 28, 2020 5:26 am

Old handcuffs

Any tips on how these work? Are they a sprung latch or a proper bolt?
How does the key work? Does it unscrew or pull a pin?

They need opening and restoring with a new key but they are so corroded inside they are solid.
The pins/shafts have no shapes or markings on their ends so either a shape the key fitted has worn or snapped off or they work some other way.

I don't normally come across these, in fact it's my first time having to work with handcuffs, I've had them since November last year and need to get them out the shop.

Any pointers?
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
<<

mercurial

Familiar Face

Post Tue Jan 28, 2020 8:01 pm

Re: Old handcuffs

Are the shafts/pins in the keyway threaded? If so, an internally threaded key likely screwed onto the shaft, whilst bearing upon the face of the keyway, thus pulling the shaft towards the mouth of the keyway.

Edit to add : upon closer inspection they look like cuffs made by Hiatt, which do indeed operate as described above. They could be the Hiatt 101 or Hiatt Best Darby model as depicted here : http://www.ushandcuffs.com/files/Hiatt_Best.jpg

Here is a video of slightly different Hiatt handcuffs that operate in the same manner, showing the action of the key at about 1:45 onwards https://youtu.be/TFG6BunbnYk

Hope that helps,

...mercurial
<<

Visitor

Post Wed Jan 29, 2020 4:48 am

Cheers for your reply. Unfortunately the shafts are all smooth, I thought they may be the threaded kind but couldnt see evidence of any threads having being there but I will have another better look. Shafts are around 4mm diameter.