FAQ  •  Register  •  Login
UKLockpickers.co.uk Lockpicking supplies such as Lockpicks, tools, and more! COMMANDOLOCK.COM Military grade padlock systems lockpickshop.com A source for lockpicking supplies such as lockpicks, locksmith tools, and more!

Generating new income sources

<<

Poolsharks1

Post Wed Nov 25, 2015 10:58 am

Generating new income sources

Hi everyone,

Im a mobile locksmith from edinburgh Scotland.
After years of avoiding it i bought myself a mobile key cutting machine - i now wished I'd bought one sooner. Some weeks i can make an extra couple of hundred pounds from key cutting! Not to mention the occasion job you get from a business wanting the locks changed and 60 keys cut (good times!)

My assumption before buying the machine was i wouldn't make much money from it as no one asks for extra keys. So paying £1000 for a machine seemed a bad idea.
However, ive found if 'you ask' the customers if they want extra keys cut, most want at least 1or 2 extra keys.

My question is: does anyone else have advice on extra income sources for a mobile locksmith?
<<

MBI

Site Owner

Post Wed Nov 25, 2015 5:04 pm

Re: Generating new income sources

Padlocks that take the same keys as common household keyways. In the US ABUS offers padlocks with the same keyways as just about every commonly available household keys.

There are three main keyways used on home locks in my area, so I keep two ABUS padlocks in each of those keyways with my mobile inventory. If I do a lockout or I'm rekeying a home I'll mention how handy it is to have a padlock for a shed, storage unit, trailer or whatever, that is keyed to the same key as their house. That way they don't have to carry a bunch of extra keys on their key ring. It's rare that I will rekey a home and NOT have them buy at least one padlock that's keyed alike to their house after I suggest it.