FAQ  •  Register  •  Login
UKLockpickers.co.uk Lockpicking supplies such as Lockpicks, tools, and more! COMMANDOLOCK.COM Military grade padlock systems lockpickshop.com A source for lockpicking supplies such as lockpicks, locksmith tools, and more!

Picking BEST to control

<<

Manipulation

Post Tue Jul 30, 2013 7:26 pm

Picking BEST to control

So someone called who had a 7 pin BEST SFIC on their door and locked out. I picked to control first before operating so I just took the lock out and opened the door with a screwdriver and put the lock back in. Is this frowned upon? I just completed the fowley belsaw course and got my certification a little while ago so I'm still new to this and not really a working locksmith yet, just testing the waters and doing calls for friends and friends of friends. So is doing something like this not good practice in the field?
<<

xeo

Catministrator
Catministrator

Post Tue Jul 30, 2013 7:27 pm

Re: Picking BEST to control

The door is open... mission accomplished. Whether you pick to operating or control doesn't matter... but I'd consider getting control more valuable in case you needed to actually remove the core. I'd say good work.
The code is hidden in the tumblers. One position opens the lock, another position opens one of these doors...
http://www.youtube.com/xeotech1

(ノಠ益ಠ)ノ彡┻━┻

░░░░░░░░░░░░░Image
<<

GWiens2001

Lock-Goblin-Gordon
Lock-Goblin-Gordon

Post Tue Jul 30, 2013 7:38 pm

I agree with Xeo about control being more useful. A core removed by an unauthorized person is also a bigger risk to a customer, because a removed core can be decoded and keys made.

Good job on getting the lock picked. :-)

Gordon
Just when you think you've learned it all, that is when you find you haven't learned anything yet.
<<

Manipulation

Post Tue Jul 30, 2013 9:09 pm