FAQ  •  Register  •  Login
UKLockpickers.co.uk Lockpicking supplies such as Lockpicks, tools, and more! COMMANDOLOCK.COM Military grade padlock systems lockpickshop.com A source for lockpicking supplies such as lockpicks, locksmith tools, and more!

New Member from Toronto!

<<

Tabbs17

Post Tue Sep 04, 2012 6:43 pm

New Member from Toronto!

Hey All, just wanted to say hello. I'm new to the hobby, and boy does this site have some great info!!!!

1 question, what would be the best lock to start learning on?? I dug out an old garrison padlock 40mm, is this ok, or should I buy those practice locks I see where you can add your own pins??

Thanks!
<<

awol70

I've Been Banned!!
I've Been Banned!!

Post Tue Sep 04, 2012 7:15 pm

Re: New Member from Toronto!

welome.
get a master laminated.
The garrison is fine for now as well.
you can learn the exact same concept you would gain on a clear lock as you can viewing an animation on youtube.
save your money for real locks. =)
" I Love the smell of napalm in the morning!....."

<<

Oldfast

OldddffAASSTT the Spin Master Extraordinaire and American Lock Slayer

Post Tue Sep 04, 2012 8:11 pm

Welcome Tabbs! I'm Mike.

Indeed you should be able to find most (if not all) of what you need here to get a great start.
As awol mentioned, a laminated Master Lock is great to start with. Also, maybe get yourself a cheap
deadbolt (Kwikset, Defiant, etc.) and learn how to disassemble it (Kokomo's Locksmithing 101 vids
in the tutorial section will help with that
). This way you can remove some of the pinstacks and
start with just one or two. Then work your way up. Be patient, and HAVE FUN doin' it!
Last edited by Oldfast on Tue Sep 04, 2012 8:31 pm, edited 1 time in total.
" Enjoy the journey AS MUCH as the destination."
<<

mdc5150

Contributor
Contributor

Post Tue Sep 04, 2012 8:19 pm

:agree: You just got some rock solid advice from them. So that only leaves me to say welcome!
<<

Tabbs17

Post Tue Sep 04, 2012 10:35 pm