FAQ  •  Register  •  Login
UKLockpickers.co.uk Lockpicking supplies such as Lockpicks, tools, and more! COMMANDOLOCK.COM Military grade padlock systems lockpickshop.com A source for lockpicking supplies such as lockpicks, locksmith tools, and more!

Hi everyone!

<<

MisterBik

Post Mon May 14, 2012 7:06 pm

Hi everyone!

Hello every body! ( hi doctor nick!)

Newbie here from down under.
Got a good grasp on the theory and mechanics , suck totally at the practical application (thus far)

I have been looking through the forum and am excited to see the amount of talent and brain power present here, and I'm looking forward to joining in the festivities :)

Adam.
<<

piotr

Contributor
Contributor

Post Tue May 15, 2012 1:27 am

Re: Hi everyone!

Welcome to the forum. Good to have another Australian on the forum.

Lock picking is a manual/tactile skill. You can have an intellectual understanding of how pin-tumbler locks work -- which is analogous to knowing music theory and how a piano works -- but it will not seamlessly translate to a picking ability just as understanding the mechanics and acoustics of a piano will not make you a competent piano player. You need to practice. To paraphrase the TOOOL motto: the three "O"s are because you have to practice Over and Over and Over! :smile:
<<

MisterBik

Post Tue May 15, 2012 5:28 am

Thanks Piotr :)
I think my main problem has been I only try to pick old locks, usually not in use because they were problematic in the first place. Hard to tell if the flaw is the lock or my picking, so I am out to buy a nice new lock, and OOO. :)
<<

.45cal

Global Moderator

Post Tue May 15, 2012 4:09 pm