FAQ  •  Register  •  Login
UKLockpickers.co.uk Lockpicking supplies such as Lockpicks, tools, and more! COMMANDOLOCK.COM Military grade padlock systems lockpickshop.com A source for lockpicking supplies such as lockpicks, locksmith tools, and more!

Should I get licensed

<<

bobtheman

Post Wed Aug 20, 2014 8:18 pm

Should I get licensed

I am majoring in info sec, information assurance, hope to be a pentester. I've been playing with lock picking because it's related and fun. There are lock picking events at all of our conferences.

Anywho, I've gotten into the situation where people are requesting me to do physical security assessments. I live in nc. So, technically I'm not offering lock picking services, and when any agreements are signed and I'm hired I'm acting as an employee for that business .. I hope (this is related due to nc law and lock picking exceptions)

My question is, should I get licensed with no intentions of being a traditional locksmith to avoid any legal concerns? I'm very interested in volunteering my time to learn from a local lock Smith, mentorship if you will.

Thoughts?
<<

Anarchy_won

Post Wed Aug 20, 2014 8:37 pm

Re: Should I get licensed

I would if I was you (depending of the cost of the license) that way if anything ever happened you would be covered. IDK about in the US but in Canada there is some provinces where just having the tools on your person can get you charged if you don't have a license. that's my 2 cents.
I will let someone more in the know for your state to chime in. ;)
(17:44:28) HAL 9000 Sez: LockSport is full of children who throw fits because low priced low security products sold in discount department stores do not meet their arbitrary expectations.
<<

Josephus

Post Wed Aug 20, 2014 9:37 pm