FAQ  •  Register  •  Login
UKLockpickers.co.uk Lockpicking supplies such as Lockpicks, tools, and more! COMMANDOLOCK.COM Military grade padlock systems lockpickshop.com A source for lockpicking supplies such as lockpicks, locksmith tools, and more!

Progressing past kwikset?

<<

hisse

Post Tue Mar 05, 2013 4:29 pm

Progressing past kwikset?

Hi all, I'm fairly new to Lockpicking, after a small variety of locks I'm looking at suggestions of where to go from here.
So far the list is as follows :
Master 141D
Fortress 1843D
Fortress 1803D
5x kwikset Deadbolt now pinned w/ 1-5 pins
Kwikset Titan Deadbolt
Yale deadbolt w/ 5 mushroom pins

The only one on that list that I haven't been able to pick is the Yale and for a newbie that has been a bit of the lock from hell until I took it apart and realized why. All of the deadbolts were picked up from a habitat restore without keys and were pretty gummed up so I figured they would be harder but all of the kwikset locks have been ridiculously easy. I find the padlocks harder because of the limited keyway space.

Where is the next logical step up from the kwikset 5 and 6 pins deadbolts? I don't want to spend too much all at once but would it make sense to go to a higher end door lock or pad lock for practice or to get some security pins for the kwiksets and learn those? On one side I'm think the odds of finding one of multiple security pins in a kwikset key way are very low( aside from defiants with one spool) but the key way is nice a spacious for practice. On the other hand a more restricted key way like a schlage is likely to have security pins but is a bit of a pain in the ass for practicing on.

What have people had success with here? I wish it was as easy to find cheap restricted key way locks to progressive pin as it is to find kiwkset locks.
<<

xeo

Catministrator
Catministrator

Post Tue Mar 05, 2013 4:40 pm

Re: Progressing past kwikset?

Hello, and welcome to the abyss.