FAQ  •  Register  •  Login
UKLockpickers.co.uk Lockpicking supplies such as Lockpicks, tools, and more! COMMANDOLOCK.COM Military grade padlock systems lockpickshop.com A source for lockpicking supplies such as lockpicks, locksmith tools, and more!

Need help dialing a combination safe

<<

kennyb93

Post Thu Sep 27, 2018 11:50 am

Need help dialing a combination safe

Hello everyone!

I apologize in advanced if this is the incorrect sub-thread for this post, as it seemed to me to be the most appropriate area to post this in.

I will start by saying I have zero knowledge about picking locks of this type, so my understanding about the inner workings of locks is fairly limited.

My uncle passed away about a month ago now (god rest his soul), and we are dealing with the legal division of his estate. To streamline this process, he left his wishes on a document inside his safe. It's a Gardall combination safe with a Sargent & Greenleaf Dial mounted on it. His lawyer gave us the instructions he left to open it in a situation similar to this -- however it is in a format none of us seem to understand. The combination is hand written on a piece of paper in the following format:
00|AA|BB|CC|DD|[Check Mark]

Underneath each line (going from left to right) is the following:
4x Left, 3x Right, 2x Left, 1x pass it to 0, [Final line is blank]

Does anyone have any suggestion for dialing this? We are assuming the zero in the beginning means the safe must start at zero. Then, looking at the mechanical combination lock instructions or Gardall's website, it would be left (counter-clockwise) stopping on AA when it comes to the mark the 4th time. Turning right (clockwise) until BB comes to the mark the third time. Turning left (counter-clockwise) until CC comes to the mark the second time. Then step four simply says to turn right (clockwise) past zero until the dial comes to a complete stop. So where does the DD part of the combination come into play?