FAQ  •  Register  •  Login
UKLockpickers.co.uk Lockpicking supplies such as Lockpicks, tools, and more! COMMANDOLOCK.COM Military grade padlock systems lockpickshop.com A source for lockpicking supplies such as lockpicks, locksmith tools, and more!

Hello, new here have some questions about home-brew picks.

<<

Drussell0104

Familiar Face

Post Mon Dec 21, 2015 12:39 am

Hello, new here have some questions about home-brew picks.

Hey, guys I'm new to this and have been reading for a little while about picking. I love puzzles and learning new things so I figure I should give this a shot a see if I enjoy it. My question is would it be better for me to create my own picks from templates, or should I just buy some. The way I see it is if I'm going to spend 50-80 on a set of good quality tools I want to know I'm getting my value from them if not I would prefer to make my own knowing its not going to cost as much and be better quality. I have all the tools required minus the Dremel, because my old one bit the dust So I'm going to go pick up a new one either way. Also I worked with metal for a living as a welder before getting into nursing school this year. I also did machining with manual lathes, Mills, etc. So the doing it is not the hard part I understand about the metallurgy of most metals except some exotics. I just would like to know your opinions on whether the picks I made would be superior to the ones I could buy. Oh and any help on finding templates would be great. If I do make them I plan to do it out of Stainless Steel. Thanks for any advice y’all give me.
<<

Scrince

Familiar Face

Post Mon Dec 21, 2015 4:42 am

Re: Hello, new here have some questions about home-brew pic