FAQ  •  My feedback  •  Feedback
UKLockpickers.co.uk Lockpicking supplies such as Lockpicks, tools, and more! COMMANDOLOCK.COM Military grade padlock systems lockpickshop.com A source for lockpicking supplies such as lockpicks, locksmith tools, and more!

La Gard 4200 combo reset possible?

<<

PhoneMan

User avatar

I've gone and said something stupid, haven't I?
I've gone and said something stupid, haven't I?

Posts: 378

Joined: Tue Mar 01, 2011 2:05 pm

Location: Missouri

Post Wed Apr 08, 2015 9:05 pm

La Gard 4200 combo reset possible?

I have recently been given a Lagard 4200 swing bolt lock with a 3715 keypad, and was wondering if there is any way to reset the combo being the lock is not in a safe. I figured there might be a reset pin inside the lock body or something similar, that can only be accessed when the safe is open, and being this is not in a safe, I could potentially reset it and use it.
There is a 6 digit number written upon it with /2 beneath it, thought this might be a combo that had to be entered twice, but it's either old or something else. (first 3 of a phone number+area code) Entering it one time makes it beep 3 times, and entering it twice will do the same, with the result of it locking out for 5 minutes.

So, can I use this, or is it a paperweight?
IMG_0375.JPG

IMG_0376.JPG
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
<<

Doogs

User avatar

Contributor
Contributor

Posts: 494

Joined: Mon Mar 31, 2014 11:26 pm

Location: Gananoque, ON, Canada

Post Thu Apr 09, 2015 12:15 am

Re: La Gard 4200 combo reset possible?

Try using half the numbers then try dividing the numbers by two
The other, other, other, other Mike

(21:55:20) HAL 9001RC:: Heh heh uh heh uh heh uh uh heh PhoneMan said ass
<<

PhoneMan

User avatar

I've gone and said something stupid, haven't I?
I've gone and said something stupid, haven't I?

Posts: 378

Joined: Tue Mar 01, 2011 2:05 pm

Location: Missouri

Post Thu Apr 09, 2015 12:41 am

Re: La Gard 4200 combo reset possible?

Success! saw this post, which refers to a slightly different lock: viewtopic.php?f=100&t=9274&p=83969&hilit=electronic+safe+lock+reset#p83969

And decided to see if this one had the reset holes, here's a pic:
IMG_0378.JPG


Look at the IC (microchip) in the post I referenced, and look at mine, the holes UnlockD talks about aren't on this board, but the same pins of the IC have two gold pads by them, figure it couldn't hurt to short those out and follow his instructions.

It took some skill, as I had to hold 2 crossed needles on those pads as I installed and removed the battery, but it worked!

So, anyone with a Lagard "basic series", 4200, etc, can do this provided they have the safe open or the lock off.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
<<

kerti

Familiar Face

Posts: 56

Joined: Tue Mar 31, 2015 9:48 am

Location: Ukraine

Post Thu Apr 09, 2015 1:18 pm

Re: La Gard 4200 combo reset possible?

PhoneMan wrote:Success! saw this post, which refers to a slightly different lock: https://ssl.keypicking.com/viewtopic.ph ... set#p83969

And decided to see if this one had the reset holes, here's a pic:
IMG_0378.JPG


Look at the IC (microchip) in the post I referenced, and look at mine, the holes UnlockD talks about aren't on this board, but the same pins of the IC have two gold pads by them, figure it couldn't hurt to short those out and follow his instructions.

It took some skill, as I had to hold 2 crossed needles on those pads as I installed and removed the battery, but it worked!

So, anyone with a Lagard "basic series", 4200, etc, can do this provided they have the safe open or the lock off.

Thank you ! Can you remove the electronic board and make the photo of the solenoid mechanism?
<<

Doogs

User avatar

Contributor
Contributor

Posts: 494

Joined: Mon Mar 31, 2014 11:26 pm

Location: Gananoque, ON, Canada

Post Thu Apr 09, 2015 11:13 pm

Re: La Gard 4200 combo reset possible?

Geez PM did you even try to hack the combo? I would of at least ran those numbers through in various combinations.
The other, other, other, other Mike

(21:55:20) HAL 9001RC:: Heh heh uh heh uh heh uh uh heh PhoneMan said ass
<<

amizan

Newbie

Posts: 3

Joined: Fri Jul 15, 2016 4:46 am

Location: California

Post Fri Jul 15, 2016 9:06 pm

Re: La Gard 4200 combo reset possible?

IMG_5180.JPG
I also have a LaGard 4200 but with a different circuit board from all of those you guys have posted.
I am not sure if this one can be jumped and no clue which contacts I should jump.... any ideas anyone on here?

See my board photo below.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
<<

PhoneMan

User avatar

I've gone and said something stupid, haven't I?
I've gone and said something stupid, haven't I?

Posts: 378

Joined: Tue Mar 01, 2011 2:05 pm

Location: Missouri

Post Mon Jul 18, 2016 4:10 am

Re: La Gard 4200 combo reset possible?

I would have no clue on that one, when you said it was different, you weren't kidding! Being it looks like a totally different chip package, I'd have no clue. Hopefully someone can shine some light on it.
<<

Random

User avatar

Familiar Face

Posts: 133

Joined: Sun Sep 20, 2015 11:29 pm

Location: Ontario, Canada

Post Mon Jul 18, 2016 8:57 pm

Re: La Gard 4200 combo reset possible?

they both look like 30pin renesas 8bit microcontroller, They are shorting pins 1 and 6(rest line) that is clearing the flash memory. it would be nice to see the part numbers on the other boards
Last edited by Random on Mon Jul 18, 2016 9:24 pm, edited 1 time in total.
<<

Random

User avatar

Familiar Face

Posts: 133

Joined: Sun Sep 20, 2015 11:29 pm

Location: Ontario, Canada

Post Mon Jul 18, 2016 9:08 pm

Re: La Gard 4200 combo reset possible?

update: put a UP before the part number and it come up made by nec, This is more likely the manufaturer
<<

C locked

Familiar Face

Posts: 52

Joined: Fri Feb 21, 2014 10:23 am

Location: Australia

Post Mon Aug 01, 2016 8:59 am

Re: La Gard 4200 combo reset possible?

The older boards are lagard 33e
And the newer one is a 39e
The number to look at is on the side of the lockcase
Reset for the 39e needs a zapbox connected to the battery port
<<

amizan

Newbie

Posts: 3

Joined: Fri Jul 15, 2016 4:46 am

Location: California

Post Tue Aug 16, 2016 7:41 pm

Re: La Gard 4200 combo reset possible?

Random wrote:they both look like 30pin renesas 8bit microcontroller, They are shorting pins 1 and 6(rest line) that is clearing the flash memory. it would be nice to see the part numbers on the other boards



Random, i have no clue what you are talking about. can you explain for me in dumb-proof terms what you mean and how i can short mine to clear it of the Flash?

alex.
<<

amizan

Newbie

Posts: 3

Joined: Fri Jul 15, 2016 4:46 am

Location: California

Post Tue Aug 16, 2016 7:43 pm

Re: La Gard 4200 combo reset possible?

C locked wrote:The older boards are lagard 33e
And the newer one is a 39e
The number to look at is on the side of the lockcase
Reset for the 39e needs a zapbox connected to the battery port



C-lock - what is a zapbox? any links? no way to do it without it?
<<

shanman12

Newbie

Posts: 1

Joined: Sat Aug 27, 2016 4:35 am

Location: Arizona

Post Wed Sep 14, 2016 1:38 pm

Re: La Gard 4200 combo reset possible?

the zapbox is known as a La Gard 6066 reset box. They are sold for $44.50. If there is no 93c46 chip on the board then you must use the reset box. I have used an XPROG to pull the bin file on the older style 33E and find the combination. But I can't find any information on the newer board. Coincidently, I have also pulled the combo off of the S & G 6120 lock. Very easy to work with. The 6120 has a high failure rate so I wouldn't recommend installing a used one unless you are just wanting to support your local locksmith. But I do like the La Gard locks. Just keep a spare keypad as they go bad.
<<

mbfl

Newbie

Posts: 1

Joined: Thu Jun 20, 2019 6:02 pm

Post Thu Jun 20, 2019 6:11 pm

Re: La Gard 4200 combo reset possible?

I too have this variant board like amizan did anyone ever find a way to jump/reset?

amizan wrote:
IMG_5180.JPG
I also have a LaGard 4200 but with a different circuit board from all of those you guys have posted.
I am not sure if this one can be jumped and no clue which contacts I should jump.... any ideas anyone on here?

See my board photo below.
<<

Gabesthomas

Newbie

Posts: 17

Joined: Sun Jun 17, 2018 7:38 am

Post Fri Mar 25, 2022 10:20 am

Re: La Gard 4200 combo reset possible?

Bump? Anyone in the 4200m?

Return to Safes, Strongboxes & Combination Locks

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: CommonCrawl [Bot], DotNetDotCom.org [Bot]

Don't forget to visit our sponsors for all of your lockpicking needs!
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Grop
"CA Black" theme designed by stsoftware