FAQ  •  Register  •  Login
UKLockpickers.co.uk Lockpicking supplies such as Lockpicks, tools, and more! COMMANDOLOCK.COM Military grade padlock systems lockpickshop.com A source for lockpicking supplies such as lockpicks, locksmith tools, and more!

Crazy new job

<<

pickmonger2

Post Sun Aug 29, 2021 10:45 pm

Crazy new job

Anyone see any major problems with a win win deal I set up?

Have a chance to actually work with a locksmith on a trial basis. A family friend wants a beginner and wants to train me to do things his way.

Got a chance to prove my self. Will be paid $8.00 an hour but I can learn and get unlimited training with real world experience.

I have a good pension so I get to do locksmith training with a bit of money for fun. Lots of the typical grunt work. He said its to test my attitude and work ethic.

Everyone is related and friendly and willing to mentor a total newbie.

They get jobs re keying large buildings . He will have me cutting 100's of keys and pinning locks following his strict instructions. I will get to do a lot of the really boring repetitive stuff

He has a ton of broken locks I will be given a chance to fix.

Major rule ...I have to work out totally out of customer's view, often after closing. He doesn't want customers to see any beginners as he thinks it will reflect on the shop's reputation. Is that weird? They all wear uniforms once working up front.

They take secrecy and security very seriously joking I can visit the blabber mouth ex employees at the bottom of Lake Ontario.

He knows I love lock sports and will help me become a better picker and even try safe work if and when he feels like it.

Hey, in exchange for slave labour I get to learn and practise entry level skills with people I already know like.
I get a chance to see if I really want to become a lockmith vs locksports fan.
<<

mastersmith

Contributor
Contributor

Post Mon Aug 30, 2021 3:48 pm

Re: Crazy new job