FAQ  •  Register  •  Login
UKLockpickers.co.uk Lockpicking supplies such as Lockpicks, tools, and more! COMMANDOLOCK.COM Military grade padlock systems lockpickshop.com A source for lockpicking supplies such as lockpicks, locksmith tools, and more!

Combinating a Best SFIC Lock - very picture heavy!!!

<<

GWiens2001

Lock-Goblin-Gordon
Lock-Goblin-Gordon

Post Sat Jul 19, 2014 11:19 pm

Combinating a Best SFIC Lock - very picture heavy!!!

Finally getting around to combinating a couple SFIC cores lying around, and thought it might be good to make a pictorial writeup while I did so. While I have some knowledge of these locks, the professional locksmiths here who work with them will know a great deal more than me. Please feel free to correct anything incorrect, as there is much of which I am ignorant. My thanks to MrWizard, who taught me a lot. Hopefully I remember it correctly!

To start with, here are the bittings of the two keys to be used in this core…

For those not familiar with the terms, a control key is used strictly to remove the lock core. A change key (also known as an operating key) is used to unlock or lock the core, but will not remove the core.

SFIC locks use a tip-stopped key. The bottom of the key has a flat tip that stops the key from entering further into the lock core. Due to this, the bittings are numbered from the tip of the key to the bow, instead of the other way as in many other locks.

Here is another key. This one is for a 5 pin lock.

The SFIC keys are made so they can be cut further from the tip to make them usable in 5, 6 or 7 pin locks. For example, the key above could be used in a five pin core with the bitting 84848, a six pin core with the bitting 848480, or a seven pin core with the bitting 8484800.