FAQ  •  Register  •  Login
UKLockpickers.co.uk Lockpicking supplies such as Lockpicks, tools, and more! COMMANDOLOCK.COM Military grade padlock systems lockpickshop.com A source for lockpicking supplies such as lockpicks, locksmith tools, and more!

What are these other pins in my Medeco biaxial?

<<

y9nk

Post Thu Dec 21, 2017 2:08 am

What are these other pins in my Medeco biaxial?

I've got a Medeco Biaxial that looks like this:
And here's what it looks like disassembled:
No, I didn't pick it. I popped the cap off the top and dumped all the pins/springs. I was sloppy about it and chambers 1-5 all spilled and got mixed up, so I'm not sure if this is exactly how the pin stacks were originally, but that is besides the point. This is my first time dissecting a Medeco, and I am curious about the purpose of the pins/springs that I've highlighted here. Here is a close-up of the pin in the 7th chamber, with pin and spring detached:
My best guesses are that this pin is either for key control or to make the core key-retaining. I have no good guesses about what the other pin/spring is for however:
Rather than inside the core, this is located on the back of the bible, here:
I haven't seen pins in such odd places before. So, what are they for?
<<

Squelchtone

Post Thu Dec 21, 2017 8:14 am

Re: What are these other pins in my Medeco biaxial?

I *think* it's to limit travel when you use a control key and turn the key to the left to 11 oclock in order to remove the core from a lock housing.
<<

y9nk

Post Thu Dec 21, 2017 10:31 am

Squelchtone wrote:I *think* it's to limit travel when you use a control key and turn the key to the left to 11 oclock in order to remove the core from a lock housing.