FAQ  •  Register  •  Login
UKLockpickers.co.uk Lockpicking supplies such as Lockpicks, tools, and more! COMMANDOLOCK.COM Military grade padlock systems lockpickshop.com A source for lockpicking supplies such as lockpicks, locksmith tools, and more!

Ask for Recommendation For Bike locks

<<

Bickeylikey

Post Thu Jun 19, 2014 12:35 pm

Ask for Recommendation For Bike locks

Hi, can anyone help me to make my bike safe? Three of my bikes have been stolen. I cannot take it any more. I am a college student, but I cannot spend so much money on my bikes. It is ridiculous. I hope I can here something here. Anyone help me?
:axeem:
<<

mister sour

I've Been Banned!!
I've Been Banned!!

Post Thu Jun 19, 2014 12:46 pm

Re: Ask for Recommendation For Bike locks

You need a disc detainer padlock. Something like a schlage kryptonite or Abus granit. They offer excellent pick resistance and have thick shackles that resist cutting and prying attacks. Also, a chain with a cut resistant shroud could help you too. Also make sure you lock your bike to something strong and secure.
<<

mister sour

I've Been Banned!!
I've Been Banned!!

Post Thu Jun 19, 2014 12:58 pm

Heres a good deal on a really nice lock. Price will go up probably but this isnt going to be picked, most likely.
http://www.ebay.com/itm/Abus-Granit-37- ... 3f3835cd6d

Heres the type of chain I would suggest. You will be able to find different prices, thicknesses, lengths and manufacturers.
http://www.ebay.com/itm/HIGH-SECURITY-C ... 43ca21ce91
<<

flywheel

Post Thu Jun 19, 2014 1:56 pm

I am curious, how were you securing your bike before? Wire? Chain? What kind of lock? Was anything left behind?
Also, with the preponderance of building security cameras you might be able to lock your bike in the field of view of one of them.
<<

escher7

Post Thu Jun 19, 2014 11:23 pm

As Flywheel says, it would be helpful to know the circumstances of each of your bike losses.