FAQ  •  Register  •  Login
UKLockpickers.co.uk Lockpicking supplies such as Lockpicks, tools, and more! COMMANDOLOCK.COM Military grade padlock systems lockpickshop.com A source for lockpicking supplies such as lockpicks, locksmith tools, and more!

American 5200 easy?

<<

stealthski

Familiar Face

Post Wed Jun 12, 2013 1:31 am

American 5200 easy?

So I've had a 5200 that I've picked maybe fifteen times now and at first it was really difficult because I'm not good with serrations but I can get it open in about a minute now and I'm not sure if I've become better or just wore the pins out because it seems like the spools don't even give any counter rotation now, I use really light tension and try to be smooth and gentle with my locks. Anybody else notice something like this?
<<

Riyame

Keeper of the Bests / Supreme Overlord of Small Format Interchangeable Picking Nightmares

Post Wed Jun 12, 2013 2:33 am

Re: American 5200 easy?

You might have one of the new ones without security pins. Basically a crappy master lock since it is one of their cylinders in them.
PhoneMan: I always knew I'd say something stupid and it would be someone's sig
macgng: i am an equal opportunity pervert
macgng: aww fuck thats goin in someone sig :-(

If life gives you melons, you might be dyslexic.
<<

WolfSpring

Contributor
Contributor

Post Wed Jun 12, 2013 2:54 am

They are pretty easy for me too, the old ones that is the newer ones with no security pins are a pain in the butt at times, but I can usually rake them easier than SPP. It takes me less than a minute on the old 5200s and if I can't do it in 5 I pick it backwards really quick as well.
http://www.youtube.com/wolfspring

What you call intelligence, I call common sense.
<<

stealthski

Familiar Face

Post Wed Jun 12, 2013 3:27 am

Riyame wrote:You might have one of the new ones without security pins. Basically a crappy master lock since it is one of their cylinders in them.