FAQ  •  Register  •  Login
UKLockpickers.co.uk Lockpicking supplies such as Lockpicks, tools, and more! COMMANDOLOCK.COM Military grade padlock systems lockpickshop.com A source for lockpicking supplies such as lockpicks, locksmith tools, and more!

New member - also looking for manipulation tips

<<

simvbel111

Post Thu Feb 13, 2020 12:56 pm

New member - also looking for manipulation tips

Hello everyone,

I just joined today, I'm from Canada and a complete novice in manipulation. There is an old family safe that no one can open so I decided to give it a try. So far it is pretty frustrating, I have spend 4 hours playing with the wheels but no matter what I do I can only find one contact point. I did AWL, AWR, started playing with the wheels to try to find a low point to lower the cam nose but I am having no success. Anyone know a tip?

The safe is an old 1940s Protectall with a Protectall lock too, I attached a picture
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
<<

MartinHewitt

Prolific Poster

Post Thu Feb 13, 2020 1:17 pm

Re: New member - also looking for manipulation tips

Maybe there is just one contact point and you can't find a second. It depends on the lock. What is the diameter of the dial ring? What is the distance center dial to center "handle"? Do you hear any gear sounds?
In case you wonder ... Martin Hewitt is a fictional detective in stories by Arthur Morrison:
Martin Hewitt, Investigator Chronicles of Martin Hewitt
<<

simvbel111

Post Thu Feb 13, 2020 1:37 pm

Dial size is 2.5 inches or 6cm and center to center distance is 4 inches or 10cm.

There is no gear sound but I'm not sure if I'm experienced enough to distinguish something like that. I would say the mechanism is rather silent except when I pick up the first wheel there is a little grinding which I think it is the fence riding on the wheel. It happens from the right or the left but after I pick up the second wheel I won't hear that sound anymore.