FAQ  •  Register  •  Login
UKLockpickers.co.uk Lockpicking supplies such as Lockpicks, tools, and more! COMMANDOLOCK.COM Military grade padlock systems lockpickshop.com A source for lockpicking supplies such as lockpicks, locksmith tools, and more!

Hello From ATX

<<

freek007

Familiar Face

Post Wed Jul 01, 2015 1:32 pm

Hello From ATX

Hey all, just wanted to pop in and say hello!

Newbie here, have had a "James Bond" credit card type "lock pick kit" for a while now and have toyed with it off and on for a few years now. HAd reasonable success, I guess, but am now looking into getting some real tools and honing my skills. My wife now says its justifiable for me to spend more money on the hobby since I have been using my crappy picks for a while now and out grown them. Only really been working on padlocks, and nothing wtih security pins yet. I can get a 5 pin open most of the time, but it takes me quite a while and there is a lot of cursing involved, lol.

If anyone has good suggestions on practice locks, I am all ears as that is probably my first purchase. Space and cost are a concern, so I am looking at the 6 pin "EZ Rekey cutaway lock". Anyone have any experience with it? I know it isnt the best, but is it sufficient to learn?

I read that HT4 picks 10 of the same type of lock in a row, then mix them up. That sounds like a very effective way to practice, but I really cant afford (by way of funds or space - again till the wife says I can) to start getting sets of 10 (or even 5) of several different lock types.

As such I am considering the easily re-keyable cutaways. I like that it comes with spool pins and options to get serrated as well, kind of a jack of all practice locks, master of none, and that its way cheaper than buying multiple practice locks. I wont benefit from going on lock straight to another, but that level of training may have to wait a bit.

Anything else I should be looking at as an alternative?

Thanks Folks!
<<

MBI

Site Owner