FAQ  •  Register  •  Login
UKLockpickers.co.uk Lockpicking supplies such as Lockpicks, tools, and more! COMMANDOLOCK.COM Military grade padlock systems lockpickshop.com A source for lockpicking supplies such as lockpicks, locksmith tools, and more!

Hi from DC

<<

HT4

Post Mon Jun 22, 2015 11:03 pm

Hi from DC

My google searches seem to direct me here often enough that I figured that it was about time that I join up. I’m a 35 year old lawyer in Washington DC who enjoys picking locks as a hobby. I started picking several years ago, but reached a plateau, and got discouraged. I let the skills lay fallow for several years as work, marriage and family got in the way. But I started back up around a year ago, mostly encouraged by the great selection of picking videos on the internet. I refreshed my tools, and started trolling ebay for used locks. 12 months, hundreds of used locks, and many hundreds of practice hours later, I finally feel like I have confidence that I can handle most locks I encounter (limited to traditional pin tumbler locks). I’ve also learned that this is an incredibly relaxing hobby… until I have to buy a lock and I realize what a joke modern locks are (unless you spend lots of money). Right now my goal is to get a better dealing with my three dreaded obstacles: (1) heavy spring tension on the core (think American lock 747), (2) tricky keyways, and (3) radical bitting… these three things are, for me, far harder than any security pin that I’ve encountered.

In any case, I’m looking forward to becoming part of this community…
<<

Neilau

Post Mon Jun 22, 2015 11:56 pm

Re: Hi from DC

Welcome aboard :slainte:

Looking forward to hearing about your adventures in this hobby.

Lots of knowledgeable people here to help you out.

You're right it is relaxing ------ MOST of the time. :D till ---- :slam:
Clark's Law (Arthur C)

For every expert there is an equal and opposite expert.
<<

Mitchell s

Familiar Face

Post Tue Jun 23, 2015 4:47 am