FAQ  •  Register  •  Login
UKLockpickers.co.uk Lockpicking supplies such as Lockpicks, tools, and more! COMMANDOLOCK.COM Military grade padlock systems lockpickshop.com A source for lockpicking supplies such as lockpicks, locksmith tools, and more!

Newbie for Newbie

Forum rules
A section for neophytes learning the hobby!

Learn the requisite skills watching videos of other experienced members in action.

Post TUTORIAL videos only!
<<

Tarquin

Familiar Face

Post Fri Sep 17, 2010 1:06 pm

Newbie for Newbie

Okay, so perhaps this is a terrible idea, but that tends to be my way. 19 ideas out of 20 that I have are utter shit. It's the 20th one that pays off.

I'm a newbie and I've had just one Hell of a time getting into this hobby so far because of the things I didn't know I didn't know.

I read as many guides as I could and I tried to watch as many videos as I could to learn what was out there to learn at my level, and they did help. Ultimately though, as we get better at picking we start to take certain things for granted. Some things become second nature to us and instinctive, and we forget that at some stage we actually had to think about those things or adjust for them.

These are the things that a newbie should know, but that experienced pickers forget that newbies don't already know.

As a result, I've started writing a newbie guide (as a newbie) so that it will have those subtle, tiny little details in it that don't seem like much, but that add up to a whole lot.

What I'd like, is your feedback.

I've been updating this pretty regularly and will continue to do so, but here's one of the early drafts:

Picking the Newbie - This is a blog that Puc has hacked for us. He's managed to make it so that I can use it as a web book as well as a blog, and he's been amazing. Sandman paid for the site to host it on as well, and for that I am also grateful.

I look forward to your comments and suggestions if you have any.