FAQ  •  Register  •  Login
UKLockpickers.co.uk Lockpicking supplies such as Lockpicks, tools, and more! COMMANDOLOCK.COM Military grade padlock systems lockpickshop.com A source for lockpicking supplies such as lockpicks, locksmith tools, and more!

Another plasti dip job

<<

sparagmos

Post Sat Aug 15, 2015 10:19 pm

Another plasti dip job

Whats up,

I am still new to the game and just waned to share some experiences with the bunch and for those that may follow.

I purchased a set of picks that I wasn't crazy about so i asked in the KP chat (which is awesome btw) what I should do with them and I was advised to check out home brew... I got some great ideas, did a minimal amount of work to make the set 100% better, and thought i would share a few pictures.

The set (from website)

When I got the set I immediately had to try them out. They were a little difficult to work with in the keyhole and the handles were thin so i decided to sand them a little and plasti dip them.

Here is the set before any work

sanded handles before the dip

I picked up a can of plasti dip from Lowe's for 7 dollars. The instructions tell you to do some stuff, but like others that posted in home brew before, i just dunked the picks in there.

dipped and drying ( 1 of 3 dips)

and the final (needs more work) product

I will eventually get a dremel tool and do a little more work to the picks, but If anyone purchases or has purchased this pick set and is not satisfied with them I would strongly advise digging deeper in the home brew section and doing a few modifications yourself. If/when I do more to this set I will update this post
<<

Deadlock

Post Sun Aug 16, 2015 6:46 am

Re: Another plasti dip job

They will definitely be easier on your fingers now. How long did it take for the Plasti-Dip to dry? Any idea what the ambient temperature was?

Southern Specialties make some good picks. One of these days I'm going to buy one of those notched hooks with the fulcrum to see what it's like.