FAQ  •  Register  •  Login
UKLockpickers.co.uk Lockpicking supplies such as Lockpicks, tools, and more! COMMANDOLOCK.COM Military grade padlock systems lockpickshop.com A source for lockpicking supplies such as lockpicks, locksmith tools, and more!

Pick Polishing... Worth the Trouble?

<<

HT4

Post Mon Jul 06, 2015 9:10 pm

Pick Polishing... Worth the Trouble?

I see so many people polishing their picks... And I've seen threads and videos on how to polish picks. But I've never done it before, and never really felt the need. To the contrary, I've considered sharpening the bottom edges of my hooks to get traction on angled warding, and keep my picks from sliding off.

So please give me the benefit of your experience... Is polishing worth it? If so, why.

Thanks.
Check out my "LockPickingLawyer" YouTube channel:
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCm9K6rby98W8JigLoZOh6FQ/videos
<<

MBI

Site Owner

Post Mon Jul 06, 2015 9:15 pm

Re: Pick Polishing... Worth the Trouble?

I get better feedback with a well sanded, smooth pick. Much better. I can feel what the pins are doing without false feedback from the shaft of the pick grinding up against the warding, or whatever. Tight keyways become easier also.
<<

Papa Gleb

Contributor
Contributor

Post Mon Jul 06, 2015 10:56 pm

Yea I would same with MBI. Also keep in mind there is a difference between mirror polish and just making your pick very smooth. I personally polished my first set of picks to realize that I over did it and removed lots of material getting that mirror shine. My next set of picks I only rounded off all edges and made them very smooth which work great for me. For a home set barely used then year mirror shine all the way but for an EDC just smooth is fine. Mirror shine also gets scratched quick.

Bottom line: All or almost all commercial picks need some work done to them out of the box. Even Petersons mid line edge idea still needs some rounding but not much.
<<

Altashot

Post Tue Jul 07, 2015 12:12 am