FAQ  •  Register  •  Login
UKLockpickers.co.uk Lockpicking supplies such as Lockpicks, tools, and more! COMMANDOLOCK.COM Military grade padlock systems lockpickshop.com A source for lockpicking supplies such as lockpicks, locksmith tools, and more!

Marks

<<

DennisK

Contributor
Contributor

Post Thu Oct 03, 2013 8:39 pm

Marks

I'm trying to make a kwikset key via impressioning. This is my first attempt. I am seeing marks,but they are on the side instead of on top of the key like I see in all the instructional videos.What am I doing wrong?
<<

GWiens2001

Lock-Goblin-Gordon
Lock-Goblin-Gordon

Post Thu Oct 03, 2013 8:44 pm

Re: Marks

Any chance of pictures?

Gordon
Just when you think you've learned it all, that is when you find you haven't learned anything yet.
<<

mseifert

Familiar Face

Post Thu Oct 03, 2013 8:59 pm

I could be wrong here but marks on the sides of the key is acceptable .. If you can see marks I would run with it .. Most people have trouble reading the marks
When I finally leave this world.. Will someone please tell my wife what I have REALLY spent on locks ...
<<

DennisK

Contributor
Contributor

Post Thu Oct 03, 2013 9:07 pm

GWiens2001 wrote:Any chance of pictures?

Gordon

Afraid not Gordon.I mean,I got some skills,just not those kind. :razz: :shock:
<<

Oldfast

OldddffAASSTT the Spin Master Extraordinaire and American Lock Slayer
OldddffAASSTT the Spin Master Extraordinaire and American Lock Slayer

Post Thu Oct 03, 2013 9:15 pm

Might be ok. I'd carefully follow the marks and see what happens.
I think you mentioned you have a shitload of blanks anyway? lol

I know I've had locks that start out like that... the marks were more or less on the edge.
As I continued to file down, the marks began to show up on the top surface of the blank.
" Enjoy the journey AS MUCH as the destination."
<<

GWiens2001

Lock-Goblin-Gordon
Lock-Goblin-Gordon

Post Thu Oct 03, 2013 9:17 pm