FAQ  •  Register  •  Login
UKLockpickers.co.uk Lockpicking supplies such as Lockpicks, tools, and more! COMMANDOLOCK.COM Military grade padlock systems lockpickshop.com A source for lockpicking supplies such as lockpicks, locksmith tools, and more!

Basic questions about key duplication machines

<<

overWeight

I've Been Banned!!
I've Been Banned!!

Post Mon Feb 24, 2014 5:59 pm

Basic questions about key duplication machines

I am relatively new to picking as a hobby (LockSport), and it looks like a key cutting/duplication machine would be interesting to have. I know next to nothing about them and what features would be desireable, and what to look for in a machine. I know some are automatic, but besides that, I would be blindly shopping based by price. So I have some basic questions about the machines in general, with relation to hobby use:

Are there machines that allow you to input key codes of major manufacturers, or do you need to do the math and cut raw heights, or both?

What are some major brands that make good machines? What should be avoided?

Are there specific features on key machines that are used every day as a smith or are indispensible?

Is it overkill to use a key machine to produce a key based on impressioning? Should I just stick with a file?

What key brands can be cut on machines? I assume that key controlled brands have their own special machines? Can house keys and auto keys be duplicated on the same machine?

Is it worth checking out laser cutters for small volume, or is that absurd?

Are machines significantly different for the US market, with respect to Europe?

Any beginner advice would be greatly appreciated. Thanks.
<<

jeffmoss26

Sargent Mossberg
Sargent Mossberg

Post Mon Feb 24, 2014 7:45 pm

Re: Basic questions about key duplication machines