FAQ  •  Register  •  Login
UKLockpickers.co.uk Lockpicking supplies such as Lockpicks, tools, and more! COMMANDOLOCK.COM Military grade padlock systems lockpickshop.com A source for lockpicking supplies such as lockpicks, locksmith tools, and more!

advice on Sparrows pick sets, Military or Basic?

<<

nine4t4

Familiar Face

Post Wed Feb 19, 2014 2:10 pm

advice on Sparrows pick sets, Military or Basic?

While I'm not a complete noob, I am new to the site. So here's where I'll post my quandry.

After years of making my own lockpicks out of everything from paperclips to strapping I want to get a bit more serious. Long story short, since I'm buying some spool and serated practice locks from anyway, I may as well get a set of dedicated picks at the same time. Petersen and Falle are abit outside hobbyist. While Southord has a better variety and individual picks, I want to go with Sparrows (slightly better rep, support the local businesses, CanPost instead of UPS or FedEx...)

Sparrows offers great kits for the money (I know US suppliers are cheaper but my savings gets eaten in shipping)

The choices are:
A) Military SF...whatever 8 picks 6 wrenches and a cool Molle case.
http://www.sparrowslockpicks.com/produc ... %20blk.htm

1 x Best Buster Snake rake 0.025 Thick
1 x Worm Rake 0.025 Thick
1 x Small Half Diamond 0.025 Thick
1 x Steep Hook 0.025 Thick
1 x Offset Hybrid 0.025 Thick
1 x Standard Short Hook 0.025 Thick
1 x City Rake 0.025 Thick
1 x High Reach 0.025 Thick
6 x Tension Wrenches

B) The other option is to get the kick starter and expansion sets. For about the same money total I could order the case seperately and get both sets. It's 8 picks but has a very close copy of a bogota instead of the worm rake (the worm looks like an 8-bit bogota). I know I won't use a city rake, and I have a set of bogotas so it's more about the conventional picks.

1 x City Rake 0.025 thick
1 x Offset Hybrid 0.025 thick
1 x Triple Rake 0.025 thick
1 x Shallow Euro Hook 0.025 thick