FAQ  •  Register  •  Login
UKLockpickers.co.uk Lockpicking supplies such as Lockpicks, tools, and more! COMMANDOLOCK.COM Military grade padlock systems lockpickshop.com A source for lockpicking supplies such as lockpicks, locksmith tools, and more!

Homebrew Grinder

<<

zarathustra

Post Wed Dec 23, 2015 7:42 am

Homebrew Grinder

Hi guys,

I wasn't sure which forum to post this, it's my first post, and I'm a noob -- so here goes..

I've recently just purchased my first lockpick set (Sparrows Tuxedo) which I like (I'll post photos once I've polished them), however I'm already looking at doing some homebrew picks, pry bars, etc.

I don't have any power tools, so I'm looking at getting a bench grinder and dremel. I'll most likely be making picks out of hacksaw blades as a starting point because they're cheaper and possibly move on to feeler gauge strips once I increase my toolmaking skills. Based on what I've seen of bosnianbill's videos, I may look at stainless steel knives for pry bars (possibly not necessary to use stainless steel). I was looking at something like this, which I can get for $79 AUD:

http://www.ozito.com.au/c/60-benchtop-p ... le-drive-1

My question is -- would this be suitable for cutting and grinding/shaping to make picks and pry bars, particularly if I decided to try stainless steel (I'm guessing I'd need a diamond cutting wheel)? I did see a thread where kokomolock quickly reviewed a similar looking Harbor Freight 3" mini bench grinder with flex shaft and had been using it for 6 months. I believe the Ozito range is just made up of other brands that have been rebadged for Australia -- so I've been unable to find reviews of the Ozito grinder and instead have just been looking at similar models (Harbor Freight, Neiko, etc) that are available overseas to gauge the quality and suitability.