FAQ  •  Register  •  Login
UKLockpickers.co.uk Lockpicking supplies such as Lockpicks, tools, and more! COMMANDOLOCK.COM Military grade padlock systems lockpickshop.com A source for lockpicking supplies such as lockpicks, locksmith tools, and more!

Dewalt Mobile Lock

<<

DroppedTensionWrench

Post Tue Aug 18, 2015 11:24 pm

Dewalt Mobile Lock

http://www.dewaltmobilelock.com/ a musician friend was talking about getting one of these. Anyone been following these? Your thoughts?
<<

freek007

Familiar Face

Post Wed Aug 19, 2015 11:32 am

Re: Dewalt Mobile Lock

Well, that's one way to make sure people know something valuable is inside, and that there is at least one (highly visible) security countermeasure on board, LOL! I kid, but its a real concern. My day job is at a global cargo security company, we do loss prevention and recovery for high value cargo globally (think covert GPS tracking and real time driver compliance monitoring) as well as supply chain visibility. We have proprietary devices that detect vibration, inferred motion, temperature and even lux (light) levels to determine if the doors were opened without authorization. The battle is always between security vs obscurity. We chose covert trackers because organized freight thieves know to look for indicators of high value cargo such as kingpin locks, 5th wheel locks, high security trailer seals, etc (as an Intel Analyst, I know their methods well). I have read here many times things to the effect of "the best door lock does nothing to secure your window" and "if they want in, they will likely get in" or "locks keep honest people honest". With something like this, I am imagining a short tow behind trailer full of gig equipment, I would go with a more mundane appearing yet heavy duty padlock (in the shackle, most street level criminals wont attempt to pick anything other than a master lock, and probably not even then) to avoid drawing attention. If this is in a place where a thief is thinking about steali