FAQ  •  Register  •  Login
UKLockpickers.co.uk Lockpicking supplies such as Lockpicks, tools, and more! COMMANDOLOCK.COM Military grade padlock systems lockpickshop.com A source for lockpicking supplies such as lockpicks, locksmith tools, and more!

Old Mosler safe with locked inner door, what type lock.

<<

Hayekfa

Post Fri Mar 01, 2019 2:54 pm

Old Mosler safe with locked inner door, what type lock.

Hello:
I am new to this. I have a small safe collection but this is my first locked safe.
I thought that the unlocked outer door would give enough clues to figure out the inner door but after 6 hours of dialing and 6 hours reading I have not advanced much.
I am fairly sure that the two locks are not similar (outer is direct opening with fence pushed up from the bottom, (3) wheels)
Inner (locked) door does not seem to have any wheel drag variation when pressure is applied to the handle.
I have found lots of tips on this website and others, for me to try things.
If I was more confident of what type of lock I am working with I would be far ahead of where I am now.
I was beginning to think I had a friction fence type but now I have my doubts.
Any help would be greatly appreciated.
Ron
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
<<

Squelchtone

Post Fri Mar 01, 2019 2:58 pm

Re: Old Mosler safe with locked inner door, what type lock.

Looks like you have a Mosler #17 / Yale 029-1/2 indirect drive 4 wheel lock on the inside door.

Nice gut shots of a Yale 25 1/2 indirect drive friction fence lock here, similar to your model https://keypicking.com/viewtopic.php?f= ... 47#p117396

More nice gut shots here: including an 029 1/2 https://www.lockpicking101.com/viewtopi ... 91#p483165

(Mosler and Yale made locks for each other, more Yale making for Mosler, I believe, kind of like the Chevy Camaro and Pontiac Firebird models looked very similar ;-)

hope this helps,
Squelchtone