FAQ  •  Register  •  Login
UKLockpickers.co.uk Lockpicking supplies such as Lockpicks, tools, and more! COMMANDOLOCK.COM Military grade padlock systems lockpickshop.com A source for lockpicking supplies such as lockpicks, locksmith tools, and more!

Mounted up my first Safe Lock!

<<

subsonic1050

Familiar Face

Post Sat Feb 06, 2016 12:15 am

Mounted up my first Safe Lock!

Hello all,

I recently decided to go down that "other" rabbit hole. I've been picking for a few years now, and safe manipulation has always intrigued me. So, with some great advice from my old pal Oldfast, I went out and bought a few S&G 6700's, a LaGard 3330, and a Mosler security box with an Ilco lock. The first to arrive was the Mosler security box, which I had my first go at last night (made 3 graphs, and they were a bit all over the place) - it didn't go brilliantly, but hopefully my skill will improve. The second to arrive was the LaGard, which is unfortunate since I was informed that this is not a great lock to start on - but since I am eager I decided to mount it up.

I may not have any clue what I'm doing yet - but at least I have some locks to play with!

Big thanks to Oldfast for all of his advice (as always), and to Daggers for his book - which was supremely helpful. Also thanks to nsquidc for selling me a few of his S&G 6700's - very much looking forward to those!

<<

flywheel

Post Sat Feb 06, 2016 12:22 am

Re: Mounted up my first Safe Lock!

My first openings were on a LaGard 3330. It can be done. Go for it!
I remember being annoyed when the furnace came on because I was listening so intently while trying to feel and hear the contacts when plotting each point.
<<

subsonic1050

Familiar Face

Post Sat Feb 06, 2016 12:27 am

Hey thanks for the encouragement flywheel! Great to hear from you! I still have a few of your custom locks in my drawer!
<<

flywheel

Post Sat Feb 06, 2016 1:17 am