FAQ  •  Register  •  Login
UKLockpickers.co.uk Lockpicking supplies such as Lockpicks, tools, and more! COMMANDOLOCK.COM Military grade padlock systems lockpickshop.com A source for lockpicking supplies such as lockpicks, locksmith tools, and more!

Introduction

<<

Fabricator-X

Familiar Face

Post Wed Sep 23, 2015 7:55 pm

Introduction

Hello folks. I had found my way to this forum with a Google search for information about manipulating an old (about 1890) Hall's safe with a 130 unit dial. That lead me to an older thread which appears to have ended in July 2013, but without containing any conclusion. There is however quite a bit if information in it that is going to be helpful if I end up having an opportunity to try to open it for the owner. My "handle" in this forum is based on my primary avocation and that is that I fabricate many different things, mostly right now for cars and aircraft. I work in several mediums, materials and systems. I am an intuitive engineer and I am a problem solver in other settings by primary profession.

I find myself in this realm now by chance, and have so far figured out how to manipulate two older safes, one an HHM from about 1917 to 1920, I think, and the other of unknown make but with a Yale & Towne lock, and it might be older than 100 years. The HHM took me two tries about a year apart, each of several hours, but the Yale surrendered itself in less than three hours of dialing.

The next one, if I am able to get involved is a very large Hall's Safe and Lock Co safe and is referred to as a "Two-Ton Safe." It is apparently nearly 5 feet tall, over 3 feet wide and about 30 inches deep. I would like to end up with it if I get to try, and succeed, to open it, but it is on the third floor of an old building and I have very little idea of how I might get it down and out and into my trailer; and it is about 7 hours away.